Random thoughts: Breastfeeding

I’m sitting in a food court next to the supermarket because Squish started to tug at my chest while we were shopping. I tried feeding him in a breastfeeding station a while ago, but he got really excited over the couch and started crawling and cruising. So now Mikey has to finish up the shopping while I sit here and nurse Squish. So I decided to type up a bunch of random thoughts on breastfeeding:

  • I lost about 30 pounds 2 weeks in, but the weight loss tapers off after that. I don’t think I’m lighter than my pre-pregnancy weight. 😦 So I’m still a fatty (although I finally fit into a pair of pre-pregnancy jeans! Hooray!).
  • Max is super distractable now. If anyone else is with us, he latches for a few minutes and then he wants to join everyone again. He only drinks for a long time when he’s about to nap/sleep. When Max wants to drink milk, but isn’t sleepy, he’ll drink milk sitting down or on all fours. Sometimes he’ll twist around with my boob in his mouth to look around. Or, if someone is next to me, he’ll try to face that person with my nipple still in his mouth (ouch). It’s almost as if he doesn’t want to miss anything.
  • Max bites when I’m talking to someone else while breastfeeding. When I say ‘ouch! Max!’, he will smile.
  • I don’t have one of those super chubby breastfed babies. And sometimes I really worry about it. But Max is taller than most babies his age and he’s reached most milestones (smiling, laughing, rolling over, sitting down, crawling, cruising, and other play behaviors) earlier than what’s stated in the literature. But I’m not really sure if that’s thanks to breastfeeding or his genes.
  • I don’t get as hungry after every feed now, but I do get thirsty! And I really crave for sugary drinks like milo or citrusy juices.
  • One of the perks of breastfeeding is that it gives me an escape route when I’m peopled out. I really like the breastfeeding rooms in Alabang Town Center, Central Square, and Green Belt.
  • Breastfeeding is a fun topic to bond over with other moms.
  • Strangers have come up to us to play with Max. And in the middle of interacting with us, they will randomly ask me if he’s breastfed. When I say yes, they’ll say something like “I knew it! Breastfed babies have a different glow.” I don’t really know what that means because I’ve been around breastfed babies, mix fed babies, and formula fed babies, and I don’t see the difference.
  • I often wonder if my boobs will ever be the same again. I used to wish for bigger, fuller boobs. But breastfeeding boobs for me = bigger when it’s full of milk, but droopy (like, they can touch my belly button when I bend) when Max empties them out. 😦
  • I think that my mom is finally coming around to breastfeeding. She said she watched a Taiwanese talk show where they said that it was the best for babies. Thank you, Taiwanese talk show! It’s been really hard to breastfeed when your own mom thinks it’s weird.
  • The best time to breastfeed is when you’re in the car, on your way to someplace. That way, when you get to where ever you’re going, you’re less likely to have to feed so soon.
  • I feel bad for Squish sometimes because the part of his head that’s on my arm when we’re breastfeeding gets really sweaty. Sometimes, his ear is folded too. But I always love the little ear imprint I get on my arm after a long feeding session.
  • I wish cinemas had private rooms where nursing moms could take their babies (and husbands) to watch movies.
  • I’m thankful for breastfeeding because it’s a major reason for me to stay home with Squish. And I’m so grateful to be able to spend this time with him.

That’s it! I finished typing in the car. Squishy was sleep feeding all the way home. Hooray for easy car rides! ❀

IMG_6556

Leave a Reply

