Last 11 Days

I’m sitting here in the fancy Felipe and Sons barbershop and haberdashery because Mikey is getting a fancy haircut and a shave. I think he’s also getting his shoes shined. I’m sitting on a comfortable leather couch, sipping a coke zero (this was the only non-alcoholic on the menu 😞), and I just finished sending a few reports out for work.

Classes were suspended again today because of the weather. While it’s not really rainy today, it’s pretty windy and the weather was bad all weekend (there was even a tornado in Manila! 😱). Yesterday, while we ran errands, Mikey and I tried staying on top of the news to wait for reports of class suspensions. For me, class suspension means that the campus gets closed down, suspending school and office work for the day.

Most of the time, it’s something that teachers, staff, and students hope for. On rare occasions, it’s a pain because meetings have to be canceled and rescheduled. I’d say, 90% of the time, it’s always a treat (especially when it’s announced early enough and before rush hour). I’m fortunate that Mikey and I are both in the field of education, so class suspensions usually meant impromptu dates/yay-we-get-to-see-each-other-sooner!

I got a little emotional yesterday when I realized that in a few weeks, I’ll only be watching out for class suspensions in Pasay City (where Mikey goes to work) and it won’t really matter if the classes are suspended in Manila (where my university is located).

Today, Squishy is 35 weeks and 6 days old. The doctor said that we can expect Squishy anytime from the 37th week onwards! 😱 I think everything is pretty much set. I’m kind of a mess in a good way! I can’t wait to meet Squishy and strangely, I also can’t wait to give birth already. I’m eager to regain my mobility and figure! But I’m also sad to say goodbye to the daily grind.

There are people who hate what they do and where they work. For the last 6 years, I’ve been immensely blessed to have a job that’s not only enjoyable but also challenging. I’ve also been fortunate enough to work in a university where the leaders have integrity and are excellent in their respective fields and where the leaders care about the greater good and not just the bottom line. I’m usually the stupidest person in the room and that’s always my favorite! I can just sit there and learn from all of these great people. It was an environment that was usually drama-free and the focus was always on the work. It has been wonderful. And I have a feeling that this won’t be the end. ❤️

2 thoughts on “Last 11 Days

  1. “And I have a feeling that this won’t be the end.” — of course not! You never know what kind of opportunities are waiting for you! Plus you and squishy will have so much fun (errrr for the most part!) and new adventures! 😍😉😅
    On another note, Josh also goes to Felipe!

    Like

  2. Hahaha! Why am I not surprised that Josh goes to Felipe! I really think kindred spirits sila ni Mikey! Hehe! I still can’t believe that I get cheaper haircuts (P350.00) than Mikey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

