Countdown

I went for my 35th week check-up on Monday. It was a rainy day so everyone was running late and our nurse even got stuck on a broken MRT. She was only able to open the doors to the office at around 11:00 AM. I was there at around 9:30 AM because I was paranoid about the rain. Thanks to St. Luke’s free wifi, I wasn’t bored at all. Although, I wish I could’ve played Pokemon while waiting (there was no GPS on the third floor).

As soon as the nurse settled down, she weighed me and took my blood pressure. I stuck to my weight gain limit this visit—yay! But I also realized that I couldn’t see the numbers on the weighing scale anymore because of Squishy. 😅

When the doctor arrived and called me into her office,  she asked me how I was and how I felt (good and fine). She asked me to go into her little examination room so that she could get a sample to run a Group B Streptococcal antigen test (negative, yay again!) and check Squishy’s heartbeat on her Doppler (nice and strong even if I skipped breakfast! 😁 Yay times one million!).

After the examination, she explained that I needed to get a pelvic ultrasound, a complete blood count test, and a urine analysis before my 37th week visit. And then she told me that by the 37th (August 23) week, I could give birth at any time! 😱 I was so shocked because she told me not to pay attention to the ultrasound estimated delivery dates during our last visit. I thought she meant that we would be delivering after the indicated due date on the ultrasound report (September 1) and not before! 😱

As she was saying all of that, I tried my best to pay attention, but my to-do list started floating around the Doctor’s head: diaper bag, nursing bra, groceries for the week, dates with Mikey, present for our godson’s birthday this weekend, and achieving that Zen state that you have to be in as you approach the birth of your first child. 😳

She also said that the ultrasound on the 37th week would give us a better idea if we should go through a C-section or if we can still try for a vaginal birth. By that week, she will also draw up all of our admission papers so that we can go to the hospital whenever we need to.

After the doctor’s visit, I originally wanted to go home and rest. My edema‘s been starting earlier in the day lately and any extra bed time I get is always appreciated. But given the change in schedule, I decided to hustle. I took the free shuttle from St. Luke’s to Glorietta to try to get stuff off of my to-do list.

After a quick lunch, I went to Toys R’ Us to check out gift options for our godson. I found a couple of nice choices, took photos, and decided to wait for Mikey before I made a final decision. After Toys R’ Us, I waddled to Mothercare to check out nursing bras. My jaw dropped because of the prices. I knew that I would need at least two and the price ranged from Php 1400-Php 2,200 (USD 30.00-48.00). I wanted to cry. 😞 I decided to try my luck at SM to see if there were more affordable options.

I went straight to the undergarments section and stopped at the first brand I saw: Gigi Amore. I asked the sales lady if they had nursing bras and she answered: “Yung pang buntis?” [the ones for pregnant ladies?]. Dejected, I said, “No”. I explained that I needed a bra you could use for breastfeeding. Her face lit up and she said that they had some!

She led me to a small rack with a decent looking bras and they even had nursing tank tops! I found some in my size, tried them on, and they fit beautifully! The best part was that the bras were only Php 299.00 (USD 6.40) each and the tank top was Php 399.00 (USD 8.54)! HOORAY! I ended up buying two bras and one tank top. I wanted to get more, but I realized that my body might change after I give birth.

The bras are soft and it even comes with these feeding markers that you can hook on your bra to help you remember which boob you used last! Two bras and a tank top for Php 999.00 (USD 21.36)! 😍

After the department store, I went to Toy Kingdom to check out more present options. After that, I was officially pooped. I decided to get a drink at a nearby Mrs. Fields. As I sipped my low fat milk, I tried my best to sober up. Two weeks. 😳 TWO WEEKS. 😱

Two weeks is crazy fast. I thought I had at least four more weeks left. Even though I was still tired, I was motivated to get moving because there’s so much left to do! I decided to go to the grocery. I only needed pesto, tomatoes, penne, and maybe some cheese if it was on sale. But I realized that it would be a good idea to stock up on things so that we won’t go hungry after coming home from the hospital. I ended up buying four packs of pasta, sauces, snacks, and some extra toiletries.

When Mikey arrived, I finally let myself indulge in my tiredness. He carried all of my things and took over the birthday present and even made an executive decision to buy a daiper bag from Mothercare. Hooray for husbands!

Satisfied with our productivity (the only thing that was missing was the dates and that pesky Zen state), we decided to head home and have leftovers for dinner (Mikey’s yummy Kris Aquino adobo clone). I was also eager to go home because, for some reason, there was no GPS in Glorietta for me. So I could only play Pokemon in the car on the road.

After dinner, I happily packed Squishy’s hospital/diaper bag (clothes, socks, mittens, hats, diapers, blankets, and swaddlers).

Now all we need to do is to put all of our hospital bags in it in the car (my wheelie bag, Mikey’s duffel bag, and Squishy’s diaper bag) and install our car seat.

Before we fell asleep that night, Mikey said, “If Squishy is like you, of course he’s early! If he’s like me, then he’ll be on time lang.” 😅 Squish, just this once, can you be more like your Papoop? 😅

2 thoughts on “Countdown

  1. 😱😱😱
    So soooooon!!!!!!!!!!
    Oh my gosh! I wish I were there so I could do all your shopping for you and you can play Pokemon. Hahaha! I’m so amused na kasama pa talaga si Pokemon sa blog post mo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

