Hacks

Please sleep with me.

In the last few weeks, I’ve noticed Squishy’s kicks more frequently (throughout the day now) and they’re much stronger than they used to be. According to Mikey’s Who’s Your Daddy app,  Squishy is about 1.9 pounds this week (the weight of baby back ribs) and he’s the size of a lava lamp. If I’m wearing a tight shirt or Winnie-the-pooh-ing it at home, you can actually see his movement on my tummy. I’m a light sleeper now, so I can actually be half asleep and half talking to Squishy as he kicks through the night.

However, I recently came across this cool hack from BabyCentre:

Many women feel their baby move the most when they’re in bed at night. This is perfectly normal so just try to relax as best you can. If she’s moving too much for you to sleep, you could get up and sway your body for a few minutes to encourage her to settle. 

I shall try this! I hope to freak Mikey out with my whale-y silhouette swaying in the dark in the middle of the night.

Chubby Ankles.

I’m more prone to edema when I sit all day or when I’m standing for a long time doing a huge pile of dishes, rather than when I’m out and about. I guess the movement helps reduce the swelling.

It’s an easy enough problem to solve when I’m at home. I’ve mastered the art of whale dancing while I wash! But at work, I sometimes get engrossed in whatever I’m doing that I normally don’t realize that my ankles are all puffy until I’m walking to go home.

So, in four easy steps, I transformed my trashcan into a makeshift ottoman for added comfort and reduced swelling:

Taaaaadaaaaaaaa! Instant ottoman.

IMG_5289

Although, the doctor did say that the best way to get rid of edema is to raise your legs above your heart (lie down and rest your feet on the stack of pillows OR rest your feet up on the headboard of your bed). This is just a temporary/middle-of-the-day relief solution.

I’m very excited to write about my maternity belt! But I need a few more days to test if the effects start to dwindle or if it’s just a placebo.

One thought on “Hacks

Leave a Reply

