Pretty in pink

Yesterday, I woke up to a bunch of messages on my phone. I unplugged it from my charger, opened Facebook, and then my phone died. It went from 100% to 0 battery power in a few seconds. I panicked. The last time my phone died, it took four hours of charging before it would turn back on again. I waddled into our dining area to tell Mikey about it and he said: “I think it’s time.”

I’ve had my phone for over three years now and I’ve been toying with the idea of replacing it for a while. But I’ve been able to keep it going by replacing the battery once and by abusing my battery packs.

Mikey argued that it was time to get a new phone because (1) he needs to always be able to get in touch with me (and vice-versa) in case something happens, (2) I should always be able to get an Uber/Grabcar if I’m not with him, and (3) he wants me to be able to take nice photos of Squishy.

And all these things made sense. On top of that, there was a good deal on the phone I was eyeing and I was really excited to be able to leave the house without a battery pack. All that’s left was to choose a color. In the past, I wouldn’t have to think about it. I always got black phones. I liked how sleek and understated they looked. But this time, I chose the rose gold (a.k.a. pink) one.

I’m not a girly girl. If you open my closet, you’ll see a lot of blacks, whites, greys, and blues. I don’t have very girly accessories either. But for some reason, this time around, I just wanted the pink phone. Maybe it’s because I’m a whale right now and I want something that would highlight my femininity. Or maybe it’s because I’m becoming more and more aware of the fact that I’m going to be living in a house with two boys and I’ll be in need of estrogen-energy more often. Maybe I think the pink phone will help me in all the impending juxtaposition-ing. 😅 Whatever the reason, I know that I would have not wanted to get a pink phone if we were having a girl instead of a boy.

FullSizeRender 3.jpg
I keep the plastic on the phone for as long as I can to drive my husband crazy.

So, I bought my phone last night and so far, I love it! My battery is amazing and I really do think it’s a pretty phone. Hopefully, I won’t get sick of it. 😅

Leave a Reply

