Make it rain (please). 

At 17 weeks and 1 day (that’s about 4 months and a week in-weee!), we can feel the excitement growing. It’s funny because we bounce from “we-can’t-wait” to “oh-my-goodness-can-we-please-have-more time”!

We can’t wait because we already love Squishy so much. I’m bursting with excitement to see how Squishy will look like and what traits he/she will inherit from us. Plus, I’m always excited for the next milestone (this week, Squishy is developing finger prints! Hehehe). And next week, Squishy will be mastering the yawning reflex. Yawning! We might even catch it during our next ultrasound! 😍

We need more time because my shopping list is growing! 😱 The birthing cost alone is substantial, but that’s really just the start. Squishy needs gear and gear ain’t cheap. Here’s a list of things we’ll need to get in the coming weeks:

  • Playpen (+beddings)
  • Stroller
  • Car seat (maybe we’ll get a travel system where it’s a stroller and car seat in one?)
  • Breast Pump
  • Bottle kit (bottles + sterilizers, just in case, but I hope I won’t need them until late next year)
  • Bathtub
  • Stimulants (toys, bouncy seats, play gym)
  • Clothes (we’re very lucky that Lola has already given us a starter set of Carter’s for Squishy’s first year. Thank you, Lola! ❤️)

It can get confusing because there are so many options! And it’s so easy to shortchange yourself, but you want to make sure that you’re giving your kid the best that you can. At the same time, you want to be practical about things. Apart from the very real constraints of a budget, I’m also wary of consumerism. I’d really rather invest than simply purchase.

There’s all this hype and promotion that’s hard to get through because it feeds on parental guilt. While window-online shopping, I had to remind myself that I am not a bad mother if I don’t end up getting Sophie the giraffe, the award winning* teether, for Squishy.

And I have to keep reminding myself that while science and technology is supposed to make things easier for us, generations upon generations have had children without a lot of what we have now. They have survived and thrived. Squishy will too.

I suppose this begins the lifelong struggle of making worthwhile choices for your kid. 😅 Hehe. I must repeat my mantra: invest in experiences and not in things.

 

*Can you believe that there are award winning teethers? 😅

2 thoughts on “Make it rain (please). 

  1. Hahahah! During our time, we only had that blue rubber ring as teethers. It looked about as fancy as a bath tub stopper 😂😂😂

    And why giraffes? Why cant it be something that we normally chew on, like say an apple (hehehe with a conveniently placed bite mark for squishy to chomp on) or an orangenor something?

    Like

Leave a Reply

