The force is strong with this one.

I’m not entirely sure how you know how far along you are. But all the Doctors and books say that you should start counting from the first day of your last period. Mine was on December 7, 2015. But I’m pretty sure we could have only conceived on the 18th onwards.

By early December, our holiday calendar was full. Our vacation officially started on December 17. This was supposed to be the last day of work, but the Universities and Schools closed down because of a typhoon. The only thing we had left to do that day was go to an advanced screening of Star Wars (!!!—it was amazing). The very next day, we left for Baguio, and then after our short trip, it was one Christmas dinner/party after another. Needless to say, I was not the model pregnant lady for about the first four weeks of my pregnancy. Here’s a list of things that I maybe shouldn’t have done:

  1. Take the high cholesterol medicine for about two weeks (I stopped because I started to feel extra tired and the Doctor told me to stop if I was having a hard time walking)
  2. Walk up and down Session Road to get things laminated and to go the City Market
  3. Take a bunch of allergy medicines
  4. Drink at least 21 tall Peppermint Mochas (it was sticker season)
  5. Drink countless cups of regular brewed coffee
  6. Order at least 10 sushi dishes throughout the holiday season (spicy tuna sashimi, salmon sashimi, Sea Breeze, etc.)
  7. Go bowling
  8. Go all-day mall hopping
  9. Get an intense massage at Karada
  10. Drink at least 2 glasses of wine during our NYE party

The day before we found out (January 6, 2016), I actually brought three tumblers of coffee with me to work because I was feeling extra tired (now I know why).

IMG_4610
I love coffee.

The coffee seemed to work because that evening, I was energetic enough to drag my husband to go out to jog. Well, he was jogging. I was literally jumping around (YES, JUMPING) like an idiot for about 45 minutes (we have videos to prove it, I’m so sorry Squishy).

I guess for most women who get pregnant unexpectedly, everything they did from the time they could have conceived to the moment they find out comes flashing before their eyes. Sort of like an I-can’t-believe-I-did-that montage. I was mortified, scared, and guilty.

I read this list out to my husband soon after we found out that we were pregnant. And he said that it would all be okay. The force is strong with Squishy.

I will just keep holding on to that and hope that all is well. ❤

Leave a Reply

